relax

Author Topic: Visual Effects/Motion Graphics/Animation in Astoria  (Read 5088 times)

Offline MostlyHarmless

• Resident
Visual Effects/Motion Graphics/Animation in Astoria
« on: February 10, 2008, 11:31:13 PM »
What is up Astoria. I am a motion graphics artist working in midtown and I just moved out here to Astoria last weekend. I am just wondering how many other motion graphics artists live in Astoria. And if anyone would like to get together and discuss design, workflow, techniques, favorite studios, and whatnot. Let me know that I am not alone.

Astorians

Visual Effects/Motion Graphics/Animation in Astoria
« on: February 10, 2008, 11:31:13 PM »

Offline daisy

• Global Moderator
  • President
Re: Visual Effects/Motion Graphics/Animation in Astoria
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2008, 11:39:04 PM »
You're definitely not alone!  And really, who can afford Manhattan on an animator's salary?  I am an Animator, and have done a lot of work for preschool television throughout the years.  Most of my work is done in 2D, working traditionally, or in After Effects or Flash.  I've lived in Astoria since graduating college in '98.  Lately, I've been teaching myself more about flash actionscript and game design.

Offline MostlyHarmless

• Resident
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 06:01:47 PM »
Good to see another animator in the neighborhood. Although my traditional animation is pretty weak. I tend to stick to 3D software and After Effects. I checked out your reel and I was impressed. Have you been animating professionally since you graduated?

Offline daisy

• Global Moderator
  • President
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2008, 06:16:48 PM »
Thanks!  I spent 7 wonderful years working on Blues Clues right after graduation, which is very much an anomaly in animation.  I'm not sure how similar motion graphics is to character animation, but the majority of work is freelance and you're lucky if it lasts 6 months!  Animation is very much a labor of love  :)