relax

Author Topic: Pilates?  (Read 2895 times)

trixxed

Pilates?
« on: July 09, 2007, 08:01:48 PM »
Hello.
I'm interested in finding private pilates sessions. I'm a beginner. I know there's a "studio" at Synergy on Broadway, which I'm a member of, which I think seems antithetical to a good pilates environment. And I know they offer something private at The Yoga Room on Steinway, as well as group sessions on a mat.
I'm just off 30th Avenue, near 29th Street.
If you know of these or any other people/places, including private enterprise (no funny stuff!), I'd like to know what's in the neighborhood, including prices, if you have any.
Thank you. :mrgreen:
Michael

Offline ladydi

• Mayor
Re: Pilates?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 12:01:36 PM »
I belong to The Rock, over at Ditmars. They're offering private pilates and yoga sessions for members,
but I would think that non-members could probably also schedule sessions since the trainers there have clients
who are members and non-members. They would probably just have to find a space to work with you
since Synergy probably wouldn't allow a trainer from another gym on the premises.

Your options are limited in Astoria. If you really want excellent pilates private instruction, I recommend
Power Pilates on West 23rd between 5th & 6th Aves. Website is www.powerpilates.com.

They have a great intro package where you get a private class, a mat class and a massage for, I think, around
$130  -- check the site for that.

They also do private and semi-private classes where you bring a couple of people for a small, intimate group and
it saves you $$.

PP is great - I go there in addition to my classes at the Rock.

You also mentioned the Yoga Room. I think that one of the instructors at the Rock may teach there too and if so,
she's wonderful.

Good luck.

metico70

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 02:26:19 PM »