relax

Author Topic: Advice about Astoria neighborhoods  (Read 84171 times)

slalomskier22

Advice about Astoria neighborhoods
« on: April 09, 2007, 02:36:29 PM »
Hi Everyone!
   Ill be graduating college in may and working in midtown. I am thinking of moving to Astoria. Any suggestions on good areas to look for apartment (1 or 2 bedroom) for this August. Also are there alot of recent grads in the area and where do they hang out?

Thanks!

Offline Hrmph

• Council Member
Re: College Grad Moving to Astoria
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 02:48:57 PM »
I'm a relatively recent college grad (5 yrs) and live near ditmars. love the neighborhood. although there is a pretty good local bar scene (primarily by broadway), i think most people hang out in the city as the commute is very short. i personally like the ditmars side better as it alittle quieter, but still has a ton of restaurants, and is close to the park.

slalomskier22

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 03:00:39 PM »
how long is the commute to midtown?

Offline Astoria Luv

• Global Moderator
  • Governor
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 03:06:06 PM »
From 36th Avenue on the N/W, which I used to live at, you could make it to 49th Street in fifteen minutes.  I would add a couple of minutes to each stop as you head north (Broadway, 30th Avenue, Astoria Boulevard, and Ditmars)  Please note that I am counting from the time that you get on the train and it's actually in motion. In my experience (I worked off of the 49th St. stop for a combined 3 to 4 years) and I did not take account for your walk to the train, etc.  I was fortunate because I lived about a block away from the 36th Avenue stop.

Offline Astoria Luv

• Global Moderator
  • Governor
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 03:09:16 PM »
From 36th Avenue on the N/W, which I used to live at, you could make it to 49th Street in fifteen minutes.