relax

Author Topic: Young Professional Seeks Oct/Nov Move In $1100/max  (Read 4608 times)

Offline jiffy

• Resident
Young Professional Seeks Oct/Nov Move In $1100/max
« on: September 09, 2006, 03:23:16 PM »
Stolen from my craigslist post:

I am a recent college grad who will be moving to NY to start a job as an accountant with a large Manhattan based CPA firm. I am extremely responsible, hard-working, and respectful person. I always pay all of my bills on time. I am very clean and quiet, do not party, smoke, or do any drugs. I do not have any pets except for a couple of fish tanks that I would like to bring with me.

I am looking for a studio or 1 bd apartment in Astoria for around $1000/mo, but up to $1100/mo. I would like to be north of Broadway and no more than a 10 minute walk to the subway stations on 31st St.

No Basement or Garden Apartments.
No Brokers and No Roomates Please!

I am looking for an October or November move in date.  I will be in nyc from the 23rd-29th, and would like to set up to see something then.  I have friends in the area that could check out something for me sooner though.

email me if you have or know of something: acctnyc at yahoo dot com

Thanks!

Ditmartian

Re: Young Professional Seeks Oct/Nov Move In $1100/max
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2006, 04:08:19 PM »
Welcome to the neighborhood.

I presume you've already checked out craigslist for the type of apartment you're looking for. The truth is, most of the listings, if not all, involve some sort of broker fee. That's the reality of this market. Also, you may be hard pressed to find a 1 BR in that price range, especially close to the subway. The rents are going up all over.

If you still want to forego a broker, you could scour the bulletin boards (real, not internet ones) for postings. You'll usually find them in supermarkets and laundrymats. Most of the ones I've seen are for rooms for rent in a house; basically a boarding-room type situation.

Good luck.

ZiP!