relax

Author Topic: Petitioning Season  (Read 3699 times)

Offline mcdirk

• Global Moderator
  • President
Petitioning Season
« on: June 23, 2008, 11:54:55 AM »
Just wanted to spark a discussion about petitioning and how it works, what people know about it and think about it.

I've been petitioning for political candidates for 15 years and it's oftentimes laborious, but can be fun.  Under NYS law, candidates have to gather valid signatures of voters registered in the party in whose primary they wish to run in order to qualify for the ballot - this includes incumbents, so you see people out on the street and walking building to building with long green sheets, usually on clipboards.  As there are periodically challenges to petitions, and you have to have enough valid signatures (it varies by what office is being sought) in order to qualify, candidates usually gather two to three times the required number of valid signatures.  It's really arcane, signatures can be invalidated for any number of reasons.  While some folks stand at grocery stores and try to get anyone to sign, the best petitioning is done door-to-door, with a list of registered voters for your party.  I cover three to four election districts each cycle - this time carrying sheets for the Queens Democratic Slate (two judges, Congressmember Carolyn Maloney, State Senator George Onorato, Assemblymember Michael Gianaris, and all our party officials).  The page has to be folded in half to fit on a clipboard and even then it's too big. 

It's really an interesting experience - you ring the doorbell, ask for the registered voter and see if you can get them to sign.  Signing the petition only helps the candidates qualify for the ballot, it does not obligate you to support the candidate or vote for them.  You might, if the campaign is organized, get a thank you note from the candidate, but that's increasingly rare.